Building Grit, Character and Resilience through Humility

Building Grit, Character and Resilience through Humility

And of course, teaching is a two-way learning. Ask any of my students, they will tell you that I am at my most animated and effervescent when I learn something new from them. I feel so elated that I could almost fly – I begin to teach my class standing on my toes with big, open gestures, characteristics that are not usually associated with my personality. I feel rejuvenated by their insights. From Year 7 to A2 English Literature students I learn something absolutely amazing very year.

Their comments let me into the texts from completely exciting perspectives. This kind of interaction enriches our classroom experience, gives me a chance to admit my limitations in my subject knowledge, and fills them with indescribable pride. This is the kind of occasion when the intellectual boundaries between my students and me are removed for a moment; we are all learners, delighting in our new understanding of a text. I tell them how impressed I am by them, and I share with whole Faculty their original insights.

This happens every year. Every year, this renews my enthusiasm in teaching. For a moment, my students and I lose ourselves in the sheer delight of education unblemished by bureaucracy.

About W. S. Lien

Tweed Wearer - Country Lover - Teacher Researching Professionalism and Identity@Clare College, Cambridge - Keen Amateur Photographer - Devotee to Poppy my Labrador
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

