A serial failure’s proud confession

Another attempt to seek promotion at another school has resulted in a polite rejection. It was one of the several in the past few years. It is fair to say, however, I have never been particularly enthusiastic about becoming a manager, a middle leader. I was possibly more relieved than disappointed by those repeated rejections.

It means one thing, nonetheless, that I have possibly exhausted all my choices within a 15-mile radios from home. It looks increasingly more likely that I shall remain where I have always been since I was an NQT until circumstances dictates otherwise.

One observation has been made from my applications. Out of the numerous applications, I did get a couple of interviews. Interestingly enough, both were from private schools. Until now, it remains a mystery why my applications appeared to be more attractive to these two schools to such an extent that they decided to invite me for a visit. Naturally, I was flattered by the attention and the subsequent invitation. More importantly, I was grateful for the opportunity to be able to step across the invisible and metaphorical wall that divides the private and the state sectors. On both occasions, I left my interviews a slightly more informed person about “how the other half” live. 

Reaching the top of my pay scale and over the age of 50 possibly means that I am less attractive for the potential employees. Still, I go to bed happy that I can continue to do what I have done pretty well – making a significant difference to many youngsters’ lives. Those of my former students who have gone on to become doctors, teachers, others professionals, postgraduate students and even my friends, etc. are what continue to motivate me, counter all the other intolerable and nonsensical bureaucratic impositions to a teacher’s daily practice.

It is the notion of achieving against all odds that makes me proud of my job. 

Like many, however, I do ponder over my next move. Maybe combining part-time teaching with academic research? Now that appeals to me very much indeed…. 

Wish me luck.

About W. S. Lien

Tweed Wearer - Country Lover - Teacher Researching Professionalism and Identity@Clare College, Cambridge - Keen Amateur Photographer - Devotee to Poppy my Labrador
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

